Strigi search takes/eats up space in Kubuntu Hardy

After I ran Strigi-daemon to index my folders, suddenly KDE gave a warning that my free space is only 4% left. I was quite surprise to see this. I checked and realized that the folder

~/.strigi/clucene

eats a lot of space, 20GB and more.

This is already filed in launchpad, and you can find some thread in Ubuntu forum. I think the solution for now is to uninstall strigi and delete the .strigi folder

sudo apt-get remove strigi-daemon strigi-applet

rm -rf ~/.strigi

If there is a solution to this problem, I will post again 🙂

3 Responses

  1. same problem. luckily KDE has a great show file size view…. found the culprit immediately.

  2. Hi, I had the same problem here. I just deleted the clucene folder content. Now I will see if it works well. We really need a good desktop searcher for Linux. Do you have any sugestions?
    Yours,
    Dener.

  3. oh my g*d thank you for this info – strigi’s consumption caused massive problems and now they are solved.

Leave a Reply

