Adobe Acrobat Reader 8.12 takes 100% CPU in Linux Kubuntu Hardy

I am using Kubuntu Hardy, and installed Adobe Reader 8.12. I got this problem that whenever I open pdf from a website using firefox, after a while it will take 100% CPU.

I found that this is a known problem, check this blog.

The current solution is to run Adobe reader, go to “Preferences”. Click the tab “Internet”, and change from “Direct connection to Internet” to “Manual Proxy Configuration”.

I left the field empty, and now if I open Adobe, it no longer takes 100% of my CPU.

One Response

  1. Thanks for this information!
    I was bored to hear the noise of my PC’s fans everytime I used acrobat reader.
    Now it does not suck anymore.
    Léon.

Leave a Reply

