Cleaning up “/” root directory

When I tried to install something, it turns out that my root directory usage is 100%, to check type “df -h”. I couldn’t figure out what was happening until I realize that I have updated so many Linux kernel. So I checked what is the latest Linux kernel version I have, and uninstall the rest. so the usage get back to about 80%. And I did clean up some of the programs that I don’t use anymore, and did:
sudo apt-get clean
sudo apt-get autoremove

But after that my installation still fail and said not enough disc space. This is weird since I have clean up already. When I type “df -h” I noticed the following line:
overflow 1.0M 104K 920K 11% /tmp

It turns out that I needed to reboot my system. The tmp directory seems to be mounted to a RAM (check this link). After reboot, I can install my program.

Leave a Reply

