Changing SU password in Ubuntu

My company has a VPN where you simply need to login to a certain URL, it then ask to download an app to start the VPN. However, the program prompt me to enter the “su” password to install it in my laptop. Ubuntu locked the root password, and for daily operational use, we would use “sudo”. However, this program cannot install unless I provided the su password. To reset the su password, I did the following:

  • Open terminal.
  • Type:
  • sudo passwd root

  • And then reset the root password.
  • After that, I installed the vpn program from the web, and after successfully vpn to my company, I disable the root password again by typing:
  • sudo usermod -p '!' root

Leave a Reply

