Fixing Missing “Articles from Pocket” from Library Menu in Kobo Aura

When I bought Kobo Aura eReader, I could not find Pocket from the Library Menu. It turns out that for Kobo aura from Japan, the firmware is set with different affiliate. Changing the affiliate solves the problem.

These are the steps:

  1. Connect Kobo using USB to PC
  2. Go to the hidden folder “.kobo”
  3. Inside that folder, there is a text file called “affiliate.conf”
  4. Change the value from Rakuten to KoboIndigo

Reference:
http://www.mobileread.com/forums/showthread.php?t=231827

8 Responses

  1. Thank you for this! I spent months with Kobo customer service because my Kobo Reader didn’t have Pocket and customer service’s final answer was that Pocket wasn’t supported in Japan. Two minutes after reading this, now my Pocket articles are on my Reader!

  2. Thank you! I wanted to return my Kobo Aura because of this issue. Changing the affiliate fixed the Pocket integration problem and even allowed my device’s Firmware to upgrade to 3.8 (from 3.1). You’re the best. 🙂

    • Hi, I tried the affiliate but it didn’t work for me. Did you change it on appdata folder? And are there other affiliates? Thanks…

  3. Thank you so much!! It’s really amazing. How to upgrade to firmware 3.8 though?

  4. I’ve been having the same problem. Can you do this on a mac?

  5. thanks man! you’re awesome! I spend a lot of time searching for it. This and the source link migth be best posicionated in google… my god

Leave a Reply

